by MythofRock

Ten years ago, “Carolus Rex” was released by Sabaton and Myth of Rock pays a tribute to this masterpiece! Raquel Miranda tells a story of power and glory!

  1. Dominium Maris Baltici – 0:29
  2. The Lion From The North (Brodén, Sundström, Music by Brodén) – 4:42
  3. Gott Mit Uns (Brodén, Sundström, Music by Bróden) – 3:15
  4. A Lifetime of War (Brodén, Sundström, Music by Brodén) – 5:45
  5. 1648 (Brodén, Sundström, Music by Brodén) – 3:54
  6. The Carolean’s Prayer (Brodén, Music by Bróden) – 6:14
  7. Carolus Rex (Brodén, Sundström, Music by Brodén, Ken Kängström) – 4:53
  8. Killing Ground (Brodén, Sundström, Music by Brodén, Ken Kängström) – 4:24
  9. Poltava (Sundström, Music by Brodén) – 4:03
  10. Long Live the King (Brodén, Sundström, Music by Brodén) – 4:09
  11. Ruina Imperii (Brodén, Sundström, Music by Brodén) – 3:21

“Carolus Rex”. What an amazing album!!! An album, which had the magic formula for great power metal. It was released on the 25th May 2012, via Nuclear Blast, and is the sixth studio album from the band. It’s a concept album, which talks about the Swedish Empire, its rise and fall. King Charles XII is responsible for the name of the record. There are two versions of the album, the English version and the Swedish version, both are sung in those languages. That is quite awesome, because we have the opportunity to learn the band’s history in its own language, particularly if you have an interest in languages like I do. It’s also interesting how you can feel that you’re inside it! It received commercial success and everyone loved it, including myself, of course! “Carolus Rex” had several limited album covers, that you can only find on Discogs or Sabaton’s official groups. Some of them are precious! It achieved gold certificate in Poland and quadruple platinum in their hometown. At the end of the year, it was certified as a gold album in Sweden, which sold 30,000 copies and the following year, it was also gold in Poland. “Carolus Rex” is the most successful album ever made by the band so far. Sabaton announced that the album had been awarded quadruple platinum and remained on the charts for weeks. More precisely, 326 weeks!!! That’s why it is said that Sabaton’s fans are incredibly devoted, passionate and loyal. This album is ranked as the 20th best power metal full-length album of all time, by Metal Hammer.

November 30th, 2018, marked the 300th anniversary of the death of Charles XII and what better way to celebrate it than with several limited edition versions and merchandise of the record? There are four bonus tracks on the album: “Twilight of the Thunder God” (an Amon Amarth cover, it is a limited edition that can only be found on the platinum edition); “In the Army Now” (a Bolland & Bolland cover, this hit of those two well-known Dutch producers of the 80’s is mostly known by Status Quo’s cover); “Feuer Frei!” (a Rammstein cover) and “Harley From Hell”, which was originally an exclusive on the compilation album “Metalus Hammerus Rex” and was re-released on the platinum edition).

“Carolus Rex” was the last album that featured guitarists Oskar Montelius and Rikard Sundén, drummer Daniel Mullback and keyboardist Daniel Mÿhr. That sure was a big change in the band’s lineup. Prior to that, Chris Rörland and Thobbe Englund joined on guitars and Robban Bäck on drums. Former Sabaton guitarists Oskar Montelius and Rikard Sundén, drummer Daniel Mullback, keyboardist Daniel Mÿhr, together with vocalist Nils Patrik Johansson and bassist Stefan Eriksson, formed on 2012 the Swedish power metal band, Civil War, that focuses on American history and conflicts.

But let’s talk about the content of “Carolus Rex” It has the best guitar riffs, double bassed drums and choruses. It features also keyboards that are synth-oriented for the specific decade, and make you feel that you are into the battle field. Emotional and harsh vocals by Joakim, make him the driving force of this power metal brigade. “Carolus Rex”, which offered two singles, “Carolus Rex” and “The Lion From The North”, has more elements on its sound, for example you can listen to the violin, that gives an unique sound of mystery. Sabaton doesn’t have a limited power metal sound, since you will find many classic, traditional heavy metal moments here. It is not an exaggeration to say that the songs are true hymns.  Lyrics wise, it talks about a king that ruled from 1697 to 1718, at the age of fifteen. There are also songs like “A Lifetime of War”, which talks about the “Thirty Years’ War” and all the suffering and pain it caused.

With albums like “Carolus Rex”, Sabaton explored their own history and gave the world the opportunity to know it. This band can give an history lesson and with this album, some students might get their diploma. To get a full experience, go to a Sabaton concert! It’s “Carolus Rex” tenth anniversary, however, it still sounds fresh, amazing, contemporary and shows the success they’ve deserved and still deserve. They aren’t afraid to explore new directions. They give fans what they want and if you have one of their releases, you’re a lucky winner, because you’ve won a big jackpot! We are craving for more!

“Carolus Rex” Sabaton line-up

  • Joakim Brodén – lead vocals
  • Pär Sundström – bass
  • Oskar Montelius – guitars, backing vocals
  • Rikard Sundén – guitars, backing vocals
  • Daniel Mÿhr – keyboards, backing vocals
  • Daniel Mullback – drums

You may also like

Leave a Comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.