by MythofRock

Finnish-Australian metal quartet THE ETERNAL recently returned to the screen with a bang – the announcement of their long-awaited new album “Skinwalker”, which is set to be released on June 28, 2024 via Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM). In contrast to the first single’s title, ‘Deathlike Silence’, the outfit’s latest tune caused a stir among fans of melancholic and dark but also progressive metal. The band present invite listeners to explore another chapter of the album in the form of its intense title track. Featuring the acclaimed Tuvan throat singer Albert Kuvezin (YAT-KHA) and Russian singer Emily Saaen, the song incorporates unearthly drones that add an otherworldly dimension to the track. Lyrically describing a shapeshifing entity, THE ETERNAL have masterfully crafted a piece of profound heaviness, with Mark Kelson’s almost chant-like vocals enhancing the haunting and eerie atmosphere created by the rest of the group.

Pre-order “Skinwalker” in the physical format of your choice (CD-digi, transparent/black marbled 2LP), pre-save it on your favourite DSP or pre-order it digitally to receive ‘Skinwalker’ and ‘Deathlike Silence’ instantly now, here: https://theeternal.rpm.link/skinwalkerPR

“Skinwalker,” promises a continuation of their rich musical legacy and yet is set to be a defining moment creatively for the band. The album features several notable guest appearances including Tomi Joutsen (AMORPHIS), Santeri Kallio (AMORPHIS), Sami Yli-Sirniö (KREATOR) and award-winning Tuvian throat singer Albert Kuvezin (YAT-KHA) to name a few. Recorded at guitarist/singer Mark Kelson’s Lucidity Sound Studios and drummer Jan Rechberger’s Moon Unit Studios and produced by Kelson, Rechberger as well as guitarist Richie Poate, the record was mixed by Mark and Jan at Moon Unit before sending it off to Crystal Mastering in Melbourne, Australia. In the end, creative force Kelson was even responsible for the artwork, supported by the prominent skills of Travis Smith (OPETH, AMORPHIS etc.).


Originally forming in Melbourne, Australia, THE ETERNAL emerged onto the music scene in early 2003 before evolving into a truly international collaboration, with half of the members being based in Melbourne, and the other half in Helsinki, Finland. Over their two-decade journey, the band have garnered international acclaim through the release of six studio albums. Their extensive touring has taken them across national and international landscapes, sharing stages with renowned acts such as AMORPHIS, ANATHEMA, HIM, KATATONIA, SWALLOW THE SUN, and OPETH among others.

The band’s seventh studio album, “Skinwalker,” promises a continuation of their rich musical legacy and yet is set to be a defining moment creatively for the band. The album features several notable guest appearances including Tomi Joutsen (AMORPHIS), Santeri Kallio (AMORPHIS), Sami Yli-Sirniö (KREATOR) and award-winning Tuvian throat singer Albert Kuvezin (YAT-KHA) to name a few.

To begin this exciting new chapter in the band’s history, THE ETERNAL recently signed an international long-term deal with German/US based label Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM), which has a roster of outstanding internationally acclaimed artists. The new album “Skinwalker” will be released in late June 2024 through RPM.

Mark Kelson | vocals, guitars
Richie Poate | guitars
Niclas Etelävuori | bass
Jan Rechberger | drums, percussion

You may also like

Leave a Comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.