by MythofRock

Liverpool’s The Room takes on internet trolls in ‘Crying Face’, the latest taste of their ‘Restless Fate’ LP – first recordings in 38 years.

Liverpool indie rock / postpunk outfit The Room presents ‘Crying Face’, the third single from their ‘Restless Fate’ album, the first new recordings in 38 years from these John Peel favourites, whose origin dates back to 1979.

Formed by singer Dave Jackson and bassist Becky Stringer in the golden years of northern English postpunk, the band is now back, joined by their original drummer Clive Thomas (replacing Tom McCabe), along with guitarist Darren Brown and keyboardist Ethan Kyme.

“Crying Face concerns that pesky phenomenon – the social media troll. A drunken Travis Bickle of the inter-web, whose inability to socialise without getting in a temper tantrum has reduced him to scrolling through others’ accounts to leave inflammatory comments under assumed names. He might be glowering into his computer screen at something you’ve posted, right now, vein pulsing in a furrowed brow,” says Dave Jackson.

Recorded and mixed at Ark Studios in Liverpool and released via 9×9 Records, this album was co-produced by Dave Jackson and Steve Powell (Michael Head & the Red Elastic Band, Autour De Lucie, Echo & The Bunnymen).

Earlier, the band introduced two singles – ‘The Drift’ and ‘Sleepless’, a song inspired by the modern-day phenomenon of internet addiction, social media and news junkies. Producer Mark Jordan, who created the videos for all three singles, says, “This new video is a tribute to Facebook trolls. Usually with an over exaggerated opinion of themselves. Whipping up the audience like the angry villagers with their burning torches and pitchforks when in reality the monster is their own reflection.”

‘Restless Fate’ picks up where the band left off. At times shimmering, at times haunting, their melodic blend of progressive, alternative pop and sultry post-punk is just as relevant and captivating now as when they broke up in 1985. An exploration of man’s search for meaning and the dysfunction of the human condition, there is still a relentless optimism at the core of this record.

“It’s great to revisit old stuff, but writing new songs as The Room is where the excitement really lies. New Dreams from an island cursed by Restless Fate,” says Dave Jackson.

The Room recorded four John Peel sessions, appeared on The Whistle Test and worked with Television’s Tom Verlaine and John Porter (Roxy Music, The Smiths, Billy Bragg) on their ‘In Evil Hour’ LP (1984). Recordings from Janice Long‘s BBC Radio One programme and Saturday Live were used for the 1985 release ‘Jackpot Jack’ EP. 2004 brought their ‘No Dream (Best Of)’ compilation, followed by 2005’s ‘Indoor Fireworks’ LP, which was actually recorded in 1982.

Apart from touring the UK and the USA, The Room has also performed with The Fall, The Birthday Party, Bauhaus, Southern Death Cult, Violent Femmes, Tom Verlaine, John Foxx and The Red Guitars.

Following the band’s split, Becky and Dave went on to form several other bands: Benny Profane, Dust and Dead Cowboys. Dave has also recorded under his own name and, most recently, he issued a string of releases as The Room in the Wood (with Paul Cavanagh).

The ‘Restless Fate’ album is out now, available digitally across fine music platforms, including Apple MusicSpotify and Amazon. It can also be obtained on CD and as a vinyl record via Liverpool-based 9×9 Records.

01   The Drift    
02   Red Admiral    
03   Sleepless    
04   Kingdom  
05   Time Comes    
06   The Reeds  
07    Dust Motes  
08    Mirror World    
09    Crying Face    
10   Cursed Islands    
11   Bull In The Doorway


You may also like

Leave a Comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.