The new album of the progressive metal titans, Dream Theater, will be out in February 2019. It will be entitled "Distance Over Time" and according to the band itself, it is a return to the roots album. The fantastic cover of the album is done by Hugh Syme. "Distance Over Time" will be out by Sony Music's progressive imprint InsideOut Music. But let's see what the band members have to say.

James LaBrie:  "There's a heaviness to it, there's an aggression to it".

John Petrucci: "So far the music is heavy, it's progressive, it's melodic, it's shredding, and it's also epic. So it has all those elements, which… they are the five pillars of Dream Theater, if you wanna call it that".

Jordan Rudess: "(On this album we are) back to the core of the sound — screaming Hammond organ, killing leads, chunky riffs, slamming drums, and everybody will be there moshing!", "(The songwriting process was) definitely very collaborative. We basically hid away in a secret location, we found an old barn turned into studio and set aside a couple of months to do everything. We were very constructive, very energized, had a great time together, a lot of laughs. We cooked together, joked around, but in general, we had an uninterrupted musical experience together, which was very productive".

The fourteenth studio album of Dream Theater will be supported by a six-week North American tour that launches in San Diego, California on March 20. Right below you can find the new album cover and a brief teaser snippet.