by MythofRock

Witherfall take on the impact of misinformation with new single and video for “What Have You Done?”.

Los Angeles-based dark melodic metal outfit Witherfall proudly presents the new music video for the single “What Have You Done?”. Their upcoming fourth full-length album “Sounds Of The Forgotten” will be released on May 31st 2024 via DeathWave Records.

Commenting on the track, the band explains:
“The mood pervading the ‘Sounds Of The Forgotten’ writing sessions was one of frustration and sadness. Already our current decade has seen a disproportionate amount of strife we were barely at the beginning of it. Just as we were starting to see some light at the end of the ‘plague’ then the real bogey that lurks in the shadows showed itself. We take no comfort in that the most devastating virus to plague our civilization this decade is not Covid, it is misinformation.

What Have You Done?
At the beginning of composing the song we had a feeling it was going to be the album’s closing piece. The three movements that carry you through to its musical conclusion mirrored real life for us in a profound way. The song is an ode to despair. A dark reminder that like Icarus we are all fallible and prone to misdeeds. Hopefully that light at the end of the tunnel we thought we were seeing can make its way to us and shine a light into a brighter future”.

Previously Witherfall have already released the singles “Insidious”, “Ceremony Of Fire” and “Where Do I Begin”.

All singles be included on Witherfall’s upcoming fourth studio album “Sounds Of The Forgotten”, which will arrive on May 31st, 2024 via the band’s own label DeathWave Records.

“We found ourselves writing really depressing, melancholy songs about how just disappointed we were with all the work we put into Curse of Autumn and then going through the pandemic,” says frontman/songwriter Joseph Michael about the record. “Before that, we thought nothing was going to stop us. Then, something did. We felt a bit defeated. So, that’s how Sounds Of The Forgotten started. But we got out of that quickly. The songs we ended up writing were empowering. We have songs with negative emotions, but the overarching theme is moving forward and perseverance. That’s the epitome of Sounds Of The Forgotten.”

Many factors influenced and inspired Witherfall’s approach to “Sounds Of The Forgotten”. The album color theme conveys another side to Witherfall’s fourth-album distress. Often associated with ambition, power, and regality, the Blake Armstrong (In Flames, Megadeth, Kataklysm, Harry Potter, Wednesday) cover art provides a view into and a visual counter to the music on “Sounds Of The Forgotten”.

1. They Will Let You Down
2. Where Do I Begin
3. A Lonely Path
4. Insidious
5. Ceremony Of Fire
6. Sounds Of The Forgotten
7. Aftermath
8. When It All Falls Away
9. Opulent
10. What Have You Done

You may also like

Leave a Comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.