by MythofRock

Roine Stolt (Transatlantic, The Flower Kings), Daniel Gildenlöw (Pain of Salvation), Jonas Reingold (The Flower Kings, Karmakanic, The Tangent), Tom Brislin (Renaissance, Spiraling, Yes, Deborah Harry) and Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats, Steven Wilson, UK, Joe Satriani) formed a new prog/art rock band, called The Sea Within. The supergroup has already announced they will release their yet untitled debut album in spring 2018 and their first confirmed live date (Night Of The Prog Festival 2018 at Loreley, Germany on the weekend of 13-15th July 2018 alongside Camel, Big Big Train, Riverside and more. The Sea Within entered Livingston Studios in London some days ago to begin recording the basic tracks, and found an instant chemistry in the way they worked together. They are now finishing the works on their debut album. But let’s see what Roine Stolt has to say.

“I think all it started as a suggestion from the record company – putting together a new band, starting fresh, seeing if collective writing could spawn a unique style. Call it a supergroup if you want – I think we can handle that”, Roine Stolt commented. “Going into the studio in London was taking a great risk as we had not been in the same room together beforehand.” And he continues: “We had just sent demos around and didn’t really know if we could make great music together, but we managed to track almost 2 hours of new music, a mix of collective ideas. We also had a lot of great ‘off-time’, sharing laughs and stories in local pubs – that part is important.” “There are elements of prog, pop, art-rock and many cinematic elements. I suppose the music comes from within our collective memories of all that we love as far as sounds, visions and poetry. We hope that discovering the music will be a journey for the open-minded fan – something as fresh and uncertain and unfolding as it is for us”.


You may also like

Leave a Comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.