by MythofRock

Bob Katsionis, who is on tour now with Firewind across Europe, announced some days ago some details about his new solo album. His fifth solo album will be entitled “Prognosis & Synopsis: An Instrumental Exploration by Bob Katsionis” and will be released by Katsionis’ own record label, Symmetric Records, on February 17th, 2018. As implied by the album title itself, Bob Katsionis makes a statement for his own music; acts both as a “Synopsis” (summary) of his career and art so far, while it makes a “Prognosis” (prediction) of where Katsionis’ music will be in the near future. “Prognosis & Synopsis …” was recorded at Katsionis’ Sound Symmetry Studio, Athens, Greece, was produced and mixed by him and mastered by Nasos Nomikos at VU Productions. All instruments are played by the Greek virtuoso, apart from the drums by Vangelis Moraitis (recorded at “The Van”). The beautiful layout is designed by Aurelien Police.

The tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Prognosis
  2. Secret Of The Nomads
  3. Tomorrow Starts Today
  4. Dark Matter
  5. Asymmetric Parallels
  6. Aegean Sunset
  7. The Messenger
  8. Cold Embrace
  9. Amnesia
  10. Synopsis

 You can pre-order the album as well as listen to two tracks (“Prognosis” and “Tomorrow Starts Today”) at the artist’s Bandcamp page: https://bobkatsionis.bandcamp.com/

But there are also some other, very interesting news from the Bob Katsionis camp. The much-talented keyboardist/guitarist of Firewind and Outloud introduced a new format for releasing albums and listening to music, as an application for smartphones and tablets. It’ s called Icon-Disc and is compatible with both all iOS devices (iPhone, iPad, iPad Pro etc.) and Android devices. In order to test the new app, Katsionis decided to re-release a re-mixed/mastered version of his latest solo instrumental album [“Rest In Keys” (2012)] along with a bonus track, called “Age Of The Icons”, which can be downloaded for free. In his own words: “Exclusively for this version and to highlight one of the cool features of the Icon-Disc, I have included a part-by-part detailed analysis of every song/track, to help the listener get really in-depth inside my music and help them make the most out of it. Of course you can imagine how useful would that be if a band has a concept album, or wants to tell a story; along with the different artwork-per-song of the unlimited “digital booklet” they can take the listener on an entire new journey, way easier and cheaper than a CD or Vinyl, which would anyway be more difficult to get their hands on and them find the time (and player) to listen to it thoroughly”.

Such initiatives from inspired artists are welcome and hopefully, the new app will become popular in this digital age of music. We wish Bob Katsionis good luck and wait for his upcoming album with much anticipation (judging by the two tracks available at Bandcamp, his upcoming album must be a masterpiece)!  



You may also like

Leave a Comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.