by MythofRock

Brazil-based sonic adventurers BIKE present their latest psychedelic-progressive single ‘Santa Cabeça’ (translation ‘Holy Head’), following up earlier singles ‘Filha Do Vento’ (‘Daughter of the Wind’) and ‘O Torto Santo’ (‘The Sacred Crooked’), all teasing their forthcoming new album ‘Arte Bruta’. Out on May 5, it will be jointly released via Quadrado Mágico Records and Before Sunrise Records.

In the past few months, the band has toured extensively, performed live on Seattle’s KEXP, played dozens of shows at SXSW and Treefort Music Fest, in addition to opening for The Brian Jonestown Massacre in their native city of São Paulo.

The ‘Arte Bruta’ album represents the process of self-analysis this psych-rock, post-Tropicalia, noise rock collection has undergone in recent years, resulting in the most daring leap in the group’s career.

Formed in 2015 by Julito Cavalcante (guitar and vocals), Diego Xavier (guitar and voice), Daniel Fumega (drums) and João Gouvea (bass), BIKE’s trajectory has been one of long journeys – both sonically and geographically.

“We move forward from our sound on previous albums. We managed to mix all the coolest things we had already done with new references and older ones that have not yet appeared on other albums. We also added new elements and handcrafted instruments in the songs. The idea was to sound artistic and raw at the same time,” says Julito Cavalcante.

Turning heads and pleasing fans since launching, BIKE is the only Brazilian band that has released music (‘Enigma Do Dente Falso’) in 2014) through Columbia Records imprint, 30th Century Records, founded by cult American producer Danger Mouse.

BIKE released their debut album ‘1943’ in 2015, followed by ‘Em Busca da Viagem Eterna’ (2017), ‘Their Shamanic Majesties’ Third Request’ (2018) and ‘Quarto Templo’ (2019). These releases have brought them critical acclaim.

To date, BIKE has played more than 400 shows in 16 Brazilian states, the venues ranging from larger stages to underground houses and festivals. They’ve also shared the stage with The Black Angels and Os Mutantes. The band also did three extensive international tours through France, Germany, Italy, Belgium, Scotland and Wales and has performed at some of Europe’s leading music festivals, including Primavera Sound, Nox Orae, MIL Lisbon and The Great Escape.

‘Santa Cabeç’, ‘Filha Do Vento’ and ‘O Torto Santo’ are all out now, available from fine digital platforms, including SpotifyApple Music and Bandcamp, where the ‘Arte Bruta’ album is also available for pre-order.

01  Arcoverde
02  Além-Ambiente
03  O Torto Santo
04  Cedro feat. Guilherme Held
05  Traço e Risco
06  Filha do Vento
07  Clara-Luz
08  Além-Céu
09  Que vai da Terra ao Céu
10  O Encontro do Céu com a Terra
11  Santa Cabeça
12  A Queda do Céu
13  Yaripo


You may also like

Leave a Comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.