by MythofRock

British alternative artist Sicky presents his new single ‘Garbage Town’, the title track to his forthcoming ‘Garbage Town’ album, following up ‘The Bridge’, a lively pragmatic Northern Soul-inspired banger. His brand of melodic Britpop-infused indie rock spells good news for fans of Manic Street Preachers, early Blur, Supergrass and The Knack. 

A Black Country boy now residing in Shropshire, Sicky is the solo project of Mick Butler, who explains, “Garbage Town is not a place – it’s a state of mind. The lyrics talk of breaking free and leaving all the bad stuff in your head behind. Feels like all roads have led to this album. I play and record/produce everything myself so I’m a bit like a decathlete… Quite good at a couple of things and pretty average at the rest. Hopefully it sounds like in your face dirty pop”.

“The album continues the theme of shaking off dark days and making better things happen. It also includes songs that are just quirky bits of pop fun. Hopefully the album sounds uplifting despite some of the imagery.”

Having played in various bands, ranging from the brass soaked pop of Papa Mantra to the dirty stomp of SUMO, now Mick Butler derives pleasure from banging out tunes and crafting new material. Literally everything you hear in his music is him squeezing noises out of anything that’ll sing.

The new album is slated for release a year on from his lockdown album ‘Bowling Balls’, a collection that was partially inspired by Ray Bradbury’s book ‘The Martian Chronicles’. This music is inspired by Prince and Bowie, perhaps in equal measure, as well as Nirvana, Supergrass, Blur, Queens Of The Stone Age, Fun Lovin’ Criminals and Elvis.

The ‘Garbage Town’ and ‘The Bridge’ singles are out now and available across all good digital platforms, including via Spotify and Apple Music. On November 18, the full ‘Garbage Town’ LP will be released, and is available for pre-order via Bandcamp.

“Garbage Town” tracklist

1.  The Bridge
2.  Swim Shallow
3.  Beans
4.  None Of That
5.  A Bite Without A Mark
6.  Sleep On It
7.  Head First
8.  Protect Me Protect Mine
9.  Garbage Town
10. New Bones
11. Einstein’s Baby (Explicit lyrics)
12. Times Ten



You may also like

Leave a Comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.