by MythofRock

GREAT NEWWWWWWWWWWWWS! Metallica has confirmed the title of its upcoming, twelfth album, plus its release date! The new Metallica album will be titled “72 Seasons” and is set to be released on the 14th April, 2023! The album will be available via the band’s own Blackened Recordings.

Produced by Greg Fidelman with Mettalica’s James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich, and clocking in at over 77 minutes, the 12-track “72 Seasons” is Metallica’s first full length collection of new material since 2016’s “Hardwired…To Self-Destruct”. The album will be released in formats including 2LP 140g black vinyl and limited-edition variants, CD and digital.

The first single of the album is “Lux Æterna”, which lasts three and a half minutes and is available now to stream and download, and as an instant-grat track with all pre-orders of “72 Seasons”. The video of the song is directed by Tim Saccenti.

Metallica say about the video: “We recently traveled to Los Angeles to capture our performance using some crazy cutting-edge technology”.

James Hetfield says about the concept of the album title: “72 seasons. The first 18 years of our lives that form our true or false selves. The concept that we were told ‘who we are’ by our parents. A possible pigeonholing around what kind of personality we are. I think the most interesting part of this is the continued study of those core beliefs and how it affects our perception of the world today. Much of our adult experience is reenactment or reaction to these childhood experiences. Prisoners of childhood or breaking free of those bondages we carry.”

The track listing for “72 Seasons” is:

01. 72 Seasons
02. Shadows Follow
03. Screaming Suicide
04. Sleepwalk My Life Away
05. You Must Burn!
06. Lux Æterna
07. Crown Of Barbed Wire
08. Chasing Light
09. If Darkness Had A Son
10. Too Far Gone?
11. Room Of Mirrors
12. Inamorata

Says Metallica: “The album package was once again conceived and art directed by our good friend, acclaimed designer David Turner and his team. David, who won a Grammy for his work on ‘Death Magnetic’, is the man behind the look and feel of all of our recent releases, including ‘Through The Never’, ‘S&M2’, and ‘Hardwired’.”

The metal masters have also announced their tour for 2023 and 2024. Metallica’s “M72” world tour will see the band playing two nights in every city it visits — with each “No Repeat Weekend” featuring two completely different setlists and support lineups. The “M72” tour will feature a bold new in-the-round stage design that relocates the famed Metallica Snake Pit to center stage, as well as the “I Disappear” full-tour pass and the debut of discounted tickets for fans under 16 years of age. Two-day tickets will be on sale Friday, December 2 at Ticketmaster.com and will include the option of pre-ordering Metallica’s new album, “72 Seasons”, on vinyl and/or CD. Single-day tickets will be available beginning January 20. For further information including fan club presales, enhanced experiences and more, go to metallica.com/m72-info.

news source: www.blabbermouth.net/photo credit: Tim Saccenti





You may also like

Leave a Comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.