by MythofRock

Art pop band Elk City has released their new album ‘Above the Water’. A new chapter in the Montclair, New Jersey band’s evolutionary story, this album is vibrant, raw-edged and bold, showcasing a new guitar-rich lineup featuring members of Versus, Luna and the Psychedelic Furs side-project Feed.

The ‘Above the Water’ LP is being released via the newly-launched Magic Door Record Label, founded by Guided by Voices drummer Kevin March with Ketchem and LoBue with a simple mission to release music created by the rich community of artists who surround them.

Revolving around its founders, artist/ vocalist Renée LoBue and producer/drummer Ray Ketchem, the band is rounded out by guitarists Sean Eden (Luna) and Chris Robertson (Feed, Punch Havana) and bass guitarist Richard Baluyut (Versus).

Since their formation in 1999, Elk City has released 5 albums, 3 EPs and numerous singles. Pursuing a glimmering rock thread, Elk City makes potent atmospheric pop with psychedelic undertones and overtones.

Revealing the band’s North Jersey roots and lineage with The Feelies, Yo La Tengo (with whom they share a former label, Bar/None) and Luna (with whom they share a guitarist), this album asks the old New Jersey question, but this time with elegance and elocution – Have you got a problem with that?
‘Above the Water’ was recorded, mixed and mastered at Ketchem’s Magic Door Recording, opened in 2017 as an acoustically lush refuge for musical expression and experimentation. Ketchem, whose production credits include Guided By Voices, Luna and Gramercy Arms, partnered with legendary studio designer George Augspurger to transform a cavernous warehouse into a freeform studio where vintage microphones, modern studio gear, and bespoke sound tuning elevate and inspire.
Earlier, Elk City released the single ‘That Someone’, which explores the dual nature of self and other, excitement and dismay and the more laid-back and philosophical ‘Your Time Doesn’t Exist’.

The ‘Above The Water’ album is now available through all fine digital outlets, including Apple MusicTidalQobuz and Spotify, as well as Bandcamp.

1. That Someone
2. Someone’s Party
3. Apology Song
4. Your Time Doesn’t Exist
5. A Family
6. Don’t You Wanna Try
7. Floating Above the Water


You may also like

Leave a Comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.