by MythofRock

Some news from the Crematory camp! The German gothic metallers are going to release their new album, entitled “Oblivion”, on April 13th, 2018 via Steamhammer/SPV. Furthermore, they will embark on a 15-show tour of Germany at the end of April 2018. The revealed tracklist of the new album and its cover can be seen below:

01. Expectation (1:27)
02. Salvation (4:36)
03. Ghost Of The Past (3:59)
04. Until The Dawn (4:36)
05. Revenge Is Mine (4:50)
06. Wrong Side (4:12)
07. Stay With Me (4:13)
08. For All Of Us (4:06)
09. Immortal (3:32)
10. Oblivion (4:52)
11. Cemetary Stillness (4:50)
12. Blessed (4:02)
13. Demon Inside (4:06)

Press Release

Like all great rock bands, Crematory have based their success on the creativity of a well-rehearsed songwriting team. With Germany’s leading gothic metal act, it’s drummer Markus Jüllich in collaboration with the producer of each individual album that’s kept the group’s compositions on course for more than 25 years. At the same time, Markus Jüllich has enough experience to know that the band’s evolvement depends on fresh ideas and new influences. So, by enlisting guitarists Tosse Basler and Rolf Munkes and, soon after, bassist Jason Mathias he has ensured that the band has remained contemporary and diverse ever since their 2016 release Monument, reaping the fruits his efforts on the new album Oblivion.

“In particular, the sound and the selection of songs reflect the impact our three new band members have had,” comments Markus Jüllich. “Tosse is a fantastic rhythm guitarist who adds even more diversity to the material with his clean vocals, and our lead guitarist Rolf enhances the record with his solos. Jason has added lots of drive to the deep frequencies, which is why we’ve consciously opted for a loud mix of the bass parts.” Along with his wife Katrin (keyboards & samples) and vocalist Felix Stass, the three new additions are important factors that ensure that Crematory find themselves in a contemporary and forward-looking position in 2018. 

In fact, the band went one step further on Oblivion: while Markus Jüllich and producer Kristian Bonifer were busy working on the basics of their new recording at the Kohlekellerstudio, Stefan Glass, Dirk Riegner and Walter Stobbe were asked to contribute additional input to the creative process. “Dirk comes from the indie genre and helped to add an important new nuance to the characteristic Crematory approach,” Markus Jüllich explains. “Stefan Glass is a specialist for orchestral arrangements and Walter Stobbe is a real riff virtuoso on the guitar.” The result is thoroughly compelling as well as ingenious Crematory’s unmistakable style manifests itself on programmatic numbers such as ‘Ghost Of The Past’ and ‘Revenge Is Mine’, but also on the anthemic ‘Wrong Side’ and the melancholy title track. The Stefan Glass-inspired orchestral arrangements can be heard on the dark opener ‘Salvation’ as well as on ‘Until The Dawn’, ‘Blessed’ and ‘For All Of Us’. Walter Stobbe’s penchant for heavy metal features on ‘Cemetary Stillness’ and on the album’s impressive finale ‘Demon Inside’.


You may also like

Leave a Comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.