by MythofRock

The renowned hard rock band BLUE ÖYSTER CULT has unveiled the second single from their highly anticipated album “Ghost Stories”, scheduled for release on April 12 via Frontiers Music Srl. Entitled “Don’t Come Running To Me”, the song is complemented by a brand-new music video, available for viewing below.

After the resounding success of their 50th-anniversary celebration, legendary rockers BLUE ÖYSTER CULT are eagerly gearing up for an exciting new chapter in their storied career with the upcoming release of “Ghost Stories”. This highly anticipated album marks a fitting finale to the recording legacy of one of rock’s most iconic fixtures from the past 50 years.

In a thrilling partnership with Frontiers Music Srl, BLUE ÖYSTER CULT is set to captivate fans with a collection of reimagined and completed songs that span from 1978-2016. These musical treasures, long considered the “lost gems” by BLUE ÖYSTER CULT enthusiasts, were originally recorded between 1978 and 1983, except for one track from 2016, “If I Fell”. Also included is the only known recorded performance of their concert classic “Kick Out The Jams” (MC5 cover). Some of the material is from workshopping albums, some from performance rehearsals, and all were recorded once in the hopes that someday they’d see the light of day.

George Geranios, the band’s original audio engineer and an integral part of the band’s golden years, produced the tracks along with BÖC and all were originally recorded on reel-to-reel analog tape. He transferred them to digital audio which is when modern AI and magical musical talents meet and the collection of vintage multi-track recordings was de-mixed, re-mixed, and produced by Steve Schenck and Richie Castellano to become “Ghost Stories”.

Work in the studio for the album was completed by Richie Castellano along with remaining original members Eric Bloom and Donald “Buck Dharma” Roeser, and both Albert Bouchard and Rick Downey appear on drums with additional overdubs recorded by Joe Bouchard. All these original lineup members appearing on “Ghost Stories” create a musical journey that traverses decades and promises easter eggs for days.

As BLUE ÖYSTER CULT embraces its “classic rock” phenomenon status, the anticipation for this album is reaching a crescendo. Fans are eager to experience the culmination of the band’s artistic vision and witness the completion of songs that have become part of their folklore. The band will also add some of the songs in their upcoming 2024 shows.

With a legacy spanning over five decades, BLUE ÖYSTER CULT continues to be a formidable force in the classic rock scene. The exciting partnership with Frontiers Music Srl and the visionary leadership of Serafino Perugino add an extra layer of anticipation to the release of “Ghost Stories”. As the band bids farewell to their recording career, they do so with a flourish, offering fans a musical odyssey that is sure to leave a lasting imprint on rock history. Truly a remarkable journey.

“Ghost Stories” track listing:

01. Late Night Street Fight
02. Cherry
03. So Supernatural
04. We Gotta Get Out Of This Place
05. Soul Jive
06. Gun
07. Shot In The Dark
08. The Only Thing
09. Kick Out The Jams
10. Money Machine
11. Don’t Come Running
12. If I Fell
13. Roadhouse Blues (bonus track Japan)

Eric Bloom – Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals
Albert Bouchard – Drums, Vocals
Joe Bouchard – Bass, Guitar, Keyboards, Percussion, Vocals
Allen Lanier – Guitar, Keyboards
Donald “Buck Dharma” Roeser – Guitar, Vocals
Rick Downey – Drums (on 3 and 11)
Richie Castellano – Additional Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals

You may also like

Leave a Comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.