by MythofRock


Volbeat are going to release their new, eighth studio album, “Servant Of The Mind”, on December 3, 2021 via Republic Records. The album will be available in standard CD, deluxe 2LP vinyl (in various limited-edition variants) and a deluxe digital edition.

For “Servant Of The Mind”, the band, which consists of Michael Poulsen (guitars/vocals), Jon Larsen (drums), Rob Caggiano (guitars) and Kaspar Boye Larsen (bass) took their signature heavy metal, psychobilly and punk ‘n’ roll sound up a notch while showcasing Poulsen’s keen ability for songwriting and storytelling.

“I wrote the whole album in three months,” recalls Poulsen, “I was in a good place and mood while at home, and had a captive audience of myself… There are a lot of Volbeat signatures in it. If you go back to the first record and compare it to where we are now, you can hear how the band has developed its style, while keeping the signature sound.”

To coincide with the album announcement, the band has released the new single “Shotgun Blues”, an anthemic track in which Poulsen explores the ghostly events he recently experienced upon moving into a new home.

“Every time you move into a house, you bring dead people with you,” he explains. “Weird stuff happens when I move into a [new] house… it’s very otherworldly.”

“Servant of the Mind” tracklisting

1. “Temple of Ekur”
2. “Wait a Minute My Girl”
3. “The Sacred Stones”
4. “Shotgun Blues”
5. “The Devil Rages On”
6. “Say No More”
7. “Heaven’s Descent”
8. “Dagen Før” (feat. Stine Bramsen)
9. “The Passenger”
10. “Step Into Light”
11. “Becoming”
12. “Mindlock”
13. “Lasse’s Birgitta”

Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:
14. “Return to None” (Wolfbrigade cover)
15. “Domino” (The Cramps/Roy Orbison cover)
16. “Shotgun Blues” (feat. Dave Matrise)
17. “Dagen Før” (Michael Vox Version)



You may also like

Leave a Comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.