by MythofRock

Power pop/indie rock outfit The Persian Leaps has released the ‘Machines for Living’ EP, a 5-track gem of a release, via Land Ski Records.

Based in Minneapolis, The Persian Leaps surrounds principal songwriter, vocalist and guitarist Drew Forsberg. Writing solo under that name for years, he finally assembled a band in 2012.

“The phrase ‘Machines for Living’ comes from the French architect Le Corbusier. He was a friend/contemporary of Walter Gropius (who started the Bauhaus movement in Germany) and once wrote “a house is a machine for living in,” which is even more true in this era of “smart homes”. The cover art that Jon Hunt designed is inspired by Bauhaus,” says Drew Forsberg.

Earlier The Persian Leaps released the singles ‘Alright Alright’ and ‘Maybe Time Will Let Me Forget’, the latter of which was written and performed by Jon Asher (Drew’s uncle) and folk/rock superstar Dan Fogelberg under the name The Coachmen. Having opened for bands like The Who and The Hollies, their only recorded output was a 45 released on Ledger Records in 1967 with this track as the A-side.

The latest in a fruitful string of releases, The Persian Leaps released their widely acclaimed ‘Drone Etiquette’ album in late 2021. Here again, they dish out a fine new collection of 90s college rock-inspired compositions, their distinct sound built on a magnetic alternative rock foundation.

From their 2013 debut ‘Praise Elephants’ EP, which NME Magazine described as “celestial guitar jangle”, the Leaps released an EP every autumn until 2017. From their acclaimed sophomore ‘Drive Drive Delay’ EP in 2014 to their fifth ‘Bicycle Face’ EP, they have delivered one perfect power pop cocktail after another. Their massive 2018 ‘Pop That Goes Crunch’ anthology was followed by a return as a studio project, releasing the ‘Electrical Living’ LP in 2019 and the ‘Smiling Lessons’ EP in 2020 together with Jon Hunt.

As of October 7, the ‘Machines For Living’ EP will be available across online platforms, including Apple MusicSpotify and Bandcamp.

Track List
1. Alright Alright
2. Maybe Time Will Let Me Forget
3. Lipreader Dyslexia
4. Beautiful Inside
5. The Nicest Way



You may also like

Leave a Comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.